Where To Find The AWI Standards For Woodworking Certification

Featured image for “Where To Find The AWI Standards For Woodworking Certification”

The simple answer is that you can find all the AWI Standards documents online. But what do these standards cover, and how do they all fit together? 


An Overview of the AWI Standards

The Architectural Woodwork Institute has recently published their own set of standards. QCP recognizes these AWI sections when licensing woodworking firms and certifying projects that have specified QCP.

AWI has produced these Standards in collaboration with ANSI (the American National Standards Institute), a private non-profit organization that oversees the development of standards among trade organizations. This includes standards for products, services, processes, systems, and personnel of companies in the US, and they help to establish industry-wide consensus and transparency in the standards development process. 

To find out more about how the Standards fit together, here’s a handy roadmap to AWI Standards


Why Develop new Standards?

The new AWI Standards use performance-based measures, rather than prescriptive requirements, that provide design professionals, manufacturers, suppliers, installers, and users with more flexibility, value, and room for innovation. Changes have been made to reflect improvements in technology and methodologies, as well as the changes in market dynamics. Some changes are subtle, but have a significant impact on the overall quality of work and aesthetics of a project.


How to Access the AWI Standards

The AWI Standards are divided into several sections that cover different aspects of woodwork, casework, and millwork. Woodworking grades, (economy, custom, and premium), are for aesthetics, and duty levels (one to four) cover casework and performance duties.

You can download each AWI Standard here:

Want to get started? Apply for a QCP license or register a project for QCP certification.

AWI QCP - Heavy CTA, Engage the Ideal Client